Around the web – April 2021

Did you know that April is the month that the UN celebrates Language Days for three of its six official languages: Chinese, Spanish and English. Anyway, here are more of the month’s news articles, blog posts, and stories about translation and language.

Many words that define human beings by their crimes and punishments are dehumanizing

Shining a light on CPD (image by Colin Behrens)

A British-style, three-letter word for a vaccination shot has proved irksome to many Americans (Illustration: James Yang)

Your kid’s slang isn’t as bad as you think. New research indicates it can have learning benefits for children. (Photograph by SDI Productions/Getty Images)

“I cannot detach my name from people laughing at me, calling me a bitch, letting me know that I’m the punch line of my own joke” (Illustration by Nhung Lê)

Elsewhere on the blog

2 responses

  1. Pingback: Around the web – May 2021 | A Smart Translator's Reunion

  2. Pingback: Around the web – June 2021 | A Smart Translator's Reunion

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.